thymetobeet

Home Cook and Avid Runner

“All Things” Chicken

on October 5, 2015

All Things Chicken

One of my favorite activities is meal prep and planning.  Each week on Wednesday, I sit down and plan out the meals for the next week.  This is so fun, because I can tailor each week to our schedule and tastes.  I do have some hard and fast rules for the weeks planning: Monday is “Meatless Monday” and Tuesday is “Taco Tuesday”.  The fun part is finding a new way to interpret each weekly.  Also, since moving to AZ I have started to make a Sunday dinner for us.  It is so fun to look up new and exciting recipes for this too.  I love when ingredients overlap throughout the week.  For example, this week we are having nachos and a copycat salad with chicken.  This meant I needed to prep a versatile chicken recipe in order to use in both.  This has been my go to recipe for enchiladas, pasta, soup, or pretty much anything that needs shredded chicken.  The recipe freezes great too.  In coming weeks, I will be sharing my meal plan with everyone on Fridays for the following week.

“All Things” Chicken

Ingredients: 

  • 2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 3 Tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 4 cloves of minced garlic
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/3 cup low-sodium vegetable or chicken broth

Directions:

 Place chicken in slow cooker. Drizzle with olive oil being sure to coat all sides. Add garlic, sea salt, and pepper. Pour broth around the outside of the chicken. Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours, or on high for 3-4 hours. Shred or chop the chicken for multiple uses.

One response to ““All Things” Chicken

  1. […] In order to get just the right flavor, I mixed two types of vinegar together.  I used my “all things” chicken for this recipe and it came out phenomenal!  The result was a spot on copycat recipe.  It was a […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

